IMAGO FOTOUR

The mobile future of IMAGOgrafie
an idea goes around the world
The mobile future of IMAGOgrafie – an idea goes around the world. In 2014, IMAGO presented the first successor to IMAGO Camera – the IMAGO Fotour. The mobile future of the IMAGO project, with a modular design for ease of handling and mobility has all the accessibility of its predecessor and remains steeped in the Imago history. With the IMAGO Fotour we bring the unique self-portrait experience to selected museums, galleries, special cultural venues and art festivals throughout the world.
CREATION
The IMAGO Fotour was developed over several years by the initiator Susanna Kraus and her team. The actual construction of this participatory art object was undertaken by her son, the boat builder Jakob Kraus. His design was based on one of the original models from the 1970s by the sculptor Erhard Hößle. While remaining true to the IMAGO principle, we were able to significantly advance the imaging capability and handling of the camera.
CONSTRUCTION
Weighing in at 800kg the IMAGO Fotour is a lightweight compared to the 3 ton original camera. The walls are partly made of fabric stretched on frames, partly of custom designed modules of anodized aluminium. The entire assembly can be packed, transported and assembled and dismantled within 2 days.
MISSION
The simplified handling and adaptability makes the IMAGO Fotour the all-rounder of portrait photography. The craziest and largest analog photobooth ever built allows one the ultimate “selfie” in life size and black and white. The spectrum of images ranges from the close-up at 1: 1, to the 2-meter head to foot portrait and from the single to the group portrait. Every 15 minutes a finished work can be developed and is ready to go.

The mission of the IMAGO Fotour is to bring this special form of self-portrait into the world at large by making it accessible to as many people as possible. Since its creation, the IMAGO Fotour has already captivated many visitors with its special talent for transposing character and situation to a high impact image. The interactivity of the process enlivens any institutional environment. The IMAGO Fotour is, indeed, a proven crowd puller.
COOPERATION
For IMAGO Fotour showcases and long-term collaborations, we normally work with a local partner. The modularity and versatility of the IMAGO Fotour makes it possible for us and the partner to tailor the installation to perfectly complement the individual idiosyncrasies of each exhibition venue. From an exhibition over several weeks to a permanent installation, everything is possible. Not only do designers and artists benefit from the photographic versatility on offer, they also have the opportunity to design a completely new outer shell to adapt the IMAGO Fotour to their particular environment. Thus, the IMAGO Fotour can fit equally well into historical or modern arenas embellishing any venue with its unique appearance – a focus of attraction!

All technical details of the IMAGO Fotour can be found here:
„ … until I realized that this machine is alive and only develops its power and uniqueness when it serves someone congenial.“
Florian Hufnagl
PAST EXHIBITIONS
  • 2014

    Faces of Rotterdam

    Premiere of the mobile camera IMAGO Fotour DE Rotterdam, Rotterdam, The Netherlands

  • 2015

    10 years spinning galleries

    Germany premiere Camera IMAGO Photour in Leipzig, Germany

  • 2015/16

    Blackout, exhibition tour

    in cooperation with Memorieslab Ltd., Shanghai, China

IMAGO FOTOUR
inquiry
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!

IMAGO FOTOUR

Die mobile Zukunft der IMAGOgrafie
Eine Idee geht um die Welt
Im Jahr 2014 präsentierte IMAGO den ersten Nachfolger der IMAGO Camera. Die IMAGO Fotour. Die mobile Zukunft des IMAGO Projekts besticht durch Modularität, einfaches Handling und ist ebenso begehbar wie ihr geschichtsträchtiger Vorgänger. Mit der IMAGO Fotour bringen wir das einzigartige Selbstportrait-Erlebnis in ausgewählte Museen, Galerien, besondere Kulturorte und Kunstfestivals dieser Welt.
ENTSTEHUNG
Entstanden ist die IMAGO Fotour in mehrjähriger Entwicklungsarbeit der Initiatorin Susanna Kraus und ihrem Team. Den Bau des partizipativen Kunstobjekts übernahm ihr Sohn, der Bootsbauer Jakob Kraus. Beim Design orientierte er sich an einem der Originalmodelle aus den 1970er Jahren des Bildhauers Erhard Hößle. Während wir dem Prinzip IMAGO treu geblieben sind, konnten wir die Bildgebung und das Handling der Kamera deutlich weiter entwickeln.
AUFBAU
Mit 800kg ist die IMAGO Fotour im Vergleich zu der 3 Tonnen schweren Originalkamera ein Leichtgewicht. Ihre Wände bestehen teils aus auf Rahmen gespanntem Stoff, teils aus speziell gefertigten Modulen aus eloxiertem Aluminium. Sie können zusammengefaltet, transportiert und innerhalb von 2 Tagen auf- und abgebaut werden.
MISSION
Ihre vereinfachte Handhabung und Anpassungsfähigkeit machen die IMAGO Fotour zum Multitalent der Portraitfotografie. Der verrückteste und größte analoge Photobooth, die je gebaut wurde, ermöglicht das eine, ultimative „Selfie“ in Lebensgröße und Schwarz Weiß. Ihr Spektrum reicht dabei vom Close-up in 1:1, bis zum 2 Meter großen Kopf bis Fuß Portrait, vom Einzel bis zum Gruppenportrait. Alle 15 Minuten kann ein Bild entwickelt werden und ist bereit zum mitnehmen.

Die Mission der IMAGO Fotour ist es, diese besondere Form des Selbst-Portraits in die Welt zu bringen, um sie möglichst vielen Menschen zugänglich zu machen. Seit ihrer Entstehung hat die IMAGO Fotour bereits zahlreiche Besucher in ihren Bann gezogen. Und offenbarte dabei ein besonderes Talent: Ihr Happening Charakter erfüllt institutionelle Orte mit Leben, macht durch Interaktion starre Strukturen fluent. Ein Publikumsmagnet, wie er im Buche steht.
KOOPERATION
Für IMAGO Fotour Showcases und langfristige Kooperationen arbeiten wir üblicherweise mit einem Partner vor Ort zusammen. Die Modularität und Wandlungsfähigkeit der IMAGO Fotour macht es uns und unserem Kooperationspartner möglich, sie perfekt auf jeden Ausstellungsort und dessen Eigenheiten abzustimmen. Von einer Ausstellung über mehrere Wochen, bis hin zur dauerhaften Installation ist dabei alles möglich. Designer und Künstler vor Ort profitieren dabei nicht nur von ihrer Vielseitigkeit im fotografischen Einsatz, sie haben auch die Möglichkeit eine vollkommen neue Außenhülle zu designen, um die IMAGO Fotour in ihre ihrer neue Umgebung anzupassen. So fügt sich die IMAGO Fotour gleichermaßen in historische und moderne Räume ein und zieht, dank ihrer einzigartigen Erscheinung, die Aufmerksamkeit auf sich.

Alle technischen Details der IMAGO Fotour findet Ihr hier:
„ … bis ich erkennen musste, dass diese Maschine lebt und ihre Kraft und Einmaligkeit nur dann entfaltet wenn sie jemand kongenial bedient.“
Florian Hufnagl
VERGANGENE AUSSTELLUNGEN
  • 2014

    Faces of Rotterdam

    Premiere der mobilen Camera IMAGO Fotour DE Rotterdam, Rotterdam, Niederlande

  • 2015

    10 Jahre Spinnerei Galerien

    Deutschlandpremiere Camera IMAGO Photour in Leipzig, Germany

  • 2015/16

    Blackout , Ausstellungstour

    in Zusammenarbeit mit Memorieslab Ltd., Shanghai, China

IMAGO FOTOUR
Anfrage
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!